Eating for the Chakras – Quick Overview of the Seven Major Chakras

Eating for the Chakras - A Quick Overview of the Seven Main Chakras The Hungry Goddess

The Sanskrit word chakra means “wheel” and there are seven major chakras, plus more minor chakras such as in the hands and feet. These chakras, wheels, are in constant motion when they are happy and healthy. As they spin, they generate vortexes of energy that work with our mental, emotional, physical, and spiritual bodies. Chakras hold unique vibrational and color frequencies and have correspondences with just about everything in the Universe. The rotation of chakras and the level of their health create and maintain our auras (electromagnetic fields surrounding our bodies) and have real world implications for our physical bodies and wellness.

“The chakras are the psychic generators of the auric field. The aura itself is the meeting point between the core patterns generated by the chakras and the influence of the external world.”
― Anodea Judith, Wheels of Life: A User’s Guide to the Chakra System

The seven major chakras are located in a vertical column from the base of our spine to the top of our head, as pictured above. There are some resources below if you would like to explore the chakra system as a whole, but for our purposes, we will be focused on the heart chakra.

Yoga chakras diagramQuick Overview of the Seven Major Chakras:

The first three chakras (from root to solar plexus) are more concerned with the physical world or are sometimes called the chakras of matter. The top three chakras (from throat to crown) are more concerned with the spiritual chakras.The Heart Chakra is the bridge between matter and spirit, the space of “as above, so below”.

First Chakra – Root Chakra: The Muladhara is the chakra of survival, stability, security, and our basic needs. It is also the base of Kundalini Shakti. Note – the root chakra radiates from the floor of our pelvis down into the earth. The other chakras radiate out from our bodies, except for the crown.

Second Chakra – Sacral Chakra: The Svadhisthana chakra is our emotions, creativity, and is considered to be the sexual center.

Third Chakra – Solar Plexus: The Manipura chakra means lustrous gem and is our source of personal power.

The Fourth Chakra – Heart Chakra: The Anahata chakra is located at the middle of the seven and unites the lower chakras of matter and the upper chakras of spirit. This is our source of love and connection, ranging from self love to divine love.

Fifth Chakra – Throat Chakra: The Vishuddha chakra is our source of verbal expression and the ability to speak our highest truth.

Sixth Chakra – Third Eye Chakra: The Ajna chakra is our center of intuition and psychic abilities.

Seventh Chakra – Crown Chakra: The Sahaswara chakra or the “thousand petal lotus” chakra is located at the crown of the head and radiates upward from the crown of the head. It is the chakra of enlightenment and spiritual connection to our higher selves, others, and to the divine.


Chakra Resources …

Wheels of Life by Anodea Judith

Chakra Mantras by Thomas Ashley-Farrand

Chakra Awakening by Margaret Ann Lembo

Understanding the Chakras online course with Brandi Auset on Mystery School of the Goddess

Stay Tuned for More Eating for the Chakras!